Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I need to do a couple more Beauty Posts before I venture back to Pea-updates, Recipes and Unplugged for two reasons:

Reason #1:  Apparently this is a season for me to put some attention to this area. Seems the Lord is not limited to “religious” conversation when He speaks to us, and training comes in many forms and modalities depending on where we are at and where we are going… which in most cases, we don’t really know!  So best to stick with the Lord’s program instead of trying to create our own.  Quite honestly I’m a little annoyed because I can think of several other areas that I would LOVE to get some insight into, but He’s NOT TALKING to me about those!  So I’ve succumbed.  And I’ll do my best to enjoy this season.  My regular very low maintenance routine has shifted slightly and more time is required than previously.  Seems frivolous and vain?  Tell me about it!  I have the same prejudice!

Reason #2:  I thought I should warn you all of a ‘little’ change before you catch a glimpse of some ‘strange girl’ in an upcoming post and wonder who replaced Dusty’s wife in this family!

I will post Reason #2 separately…

Today I want to share a few simple tricks and tools that I currently use to put my best face forward each day.

Keep in mind this is coming from a Mama who doesn’t have much time, money or talent to spend on primping… BUT I have learned from experience that a few minutes spent putting myself even slightly together makes a difference for the whole family.  First because it has a way of lifting my own head and making me stand ‘up-right’ (sort of magical how that happens!)… second because my Honey appreciates that I take care of myself… and third because if Mom and Dad are uplifted, so follow the Peas.

Hair first:

This super-quick up-do is one of my favorites.  Looks like I’ve made an effort… sort of classy but not overdone… and takes like ten seconds to put up.  Pull it all back semi-loose, twist and twirl on itself and clip with a BIG springy barrette.  The Barrette is the key tool here.

Once you’ve pinned your hair take a little time to gently pull pieces up front that were pulled too tightly when the barrette was clipped shut.  Personally, I prefer a softer look to a slicked-back refined look.  Gently pulling to loosen some hair up front as well as alloying a few shorter pieces to completely fall loose of the barrette’s hold helps create a soft and ‘effortless’ but put-together look.

***Last and most important little tid-bit on this set of photos… I have always claimed that my BEST ACCESSORY is a child.  Throw a sweet little child into the mix and your profile is enhanced in a way jewelry and makeup cannot rival.

Now for Makeup:

I have already admitted that I am pretty much out of it when it comes to the world of Beauty and Makeup.  (Confessed here.)

My biggest asset is that I’ve learned to tap in to others who are AWESOME at it and then adjust their knowledge to fit my simple life-style.

I’m not a big makeup shopper and prefer the quickest, easiest, biggest-bang-for-your-buck route without being ‘cheap’… meaning I don’t want to look like I’m wearing my six-year-old’s Hello Kitty makeup.

I took a photo of some my favorites of late, and will expound on them below…

I purchased this kit when I was in the States last August for I think $20 and LOVE it!

I purchased this kit at Target for $20 when I was in the States last August and I LOVE it!

Here's what's inside the Catwalk Kit.... I think it's a beautiful palette.  And versatile.  I've used this palette to semi-recreate some of Cara's looks on her site (see afore mentioned post for an intro to Maskcara). I particularly like the eye-shadow primer which for me doubles as a coverup, and the dual-colored base tones that double as my "highlighter" when I attempt Maskcara's HAC, which by the way is very effective... A little HAC-ing needn't be fussy... I have simplified and adjusted to my face and lifestyle and so far like the results.

Here’s what’s inside the Catwalk Kit by Jemma Kidd….
I think it’s a beautiful palette. And versatile. I’ve used this palette to semi-recreate some of Cara’s looks on her site (see afore mentioned post for an intro to Cara of Maskcara).
I particularly like the eye-shadow primer which for me doubles as coverup, and the dual-colored base tones that double as “highlighter” when I attempt Maskcara’s HAC, which by the way is very effective… A little HAC-ing needn’t be fussy… I have simplified and adjusted to my face and lifestyle and so far like the results.

These are a few of my favorite things...  -Lightly Bronzing Powder from The Body Shop.  This was a gift from my sister Betsy and is in a lighter tone which suits my light skin.  It's very natural looking with discrete but effective shimmer and has served me well for over a year.  I am currently experimenting with another bronzer that sissy Polly sent me recently which is also fun, but this light version is a beautiful go-to for quick days. -Maskara... specifically CoverGirl LashBlast 24HR in Black Gold... I LOVE this color!  I find that for everyday wear black is too stark for my liking I've generally used a brown black and currently use this Black Gold which is awesome!  It lasts all day (as stated), and the color is a beautiful soft dark color that adds the pop eyelashes sometimes need to help us look awake without making me feel like I should be going out on the town.... although I wouldn't hesitate to wear this color for an evening out either.  All around its a winner in my book. -Eyelash curler... VERY EFFECTIVE... get one! -Burts Bees chapstick... THE BEST... refreshing and natural... seems to eventually melt right into my lips and not just create a barrier. -Origins Lip Remedy... I've been using this one for years!  When I buy it I usually buy several tubes at a time because its not easy for me to come by on a regular basis.  This has a minty fresh smell like the Burts Bees above but is more of a lotion for your lips.... which is awesome because for someone like me who is prone to dry skin I can smear this amazing stuff not only on my lips but all around my mouth... and believe me IT FEELS SOOOO GOOD!  My skin loves it! -And finally another recent find during my trip to the States last August another Burts Bees product... Intense Hydration Eye Cream with Clary Sage... first of all the scent of this stuff is SO lovely!  And Burts Bees products feel so good on my skin... not heavy... not artificial... and VERY REFRESHING.  I look forward to trying more of their face products in the future as I have so appreciated these.

These are a few of my favorite things…
-Light Bronzing Powder from The Body Shop. This was a gift from my sister Betsy and is in a lighter tone which suits my light skin. It’s very natural looking with discrete but effective shimmer and has served me well for over a year. I am currently experimenting with another bronzer that sissy Polly sent me recently which is also fun, but this light version is a beautiful go-to for quick days.
-Mascara… specifically CoverGirl LashBlast 24HR in Black Gold… I LOVE this color! I find that for everyday wear black is too stark for my liking.  I’ve generally used a brown black and currently use this Black Gold which is awesome! It lasts all day (as stated), and the color is a beautiful softly-bold color that adds the pop my eyelashes sometimes need to help me look awake without making me feel like I should be going out on the town…. although I wouldn’t hesitate to wear this color for an evening out either. All around its a winner in my book.
-Eyelash curler… VERY EFFECTIVE… get one!
-Burts Bees chapstick… THE BEST… refreshing and natural… seems to eventually melt right into my lips and not just create a barrier that rubs or ‘licks’ off.
-Origins Lip Remedy… I’ve been using this one for years! When I buy it I usually buy several tubes at a time because its not easy for me to come by on a regular basis. This has a minty fresh smell like the Burts Bees above but is more of a lotion for your lips…. which is awesome for someone like me who is prone to dry skin… I can smear this amazing stuff not only on my lips but all around my mouth… and believe me IT FEELS SOOOO GOOD! My skin loves it!  And its not at all greasy so I can put it on any time my lips (and beyond) are feeling parched.
-And finally another recent find during my trip to the States last August another Burts Bees product… Intense Hydration Eye Cream with Clary Sage… first of all the scent of this stuff is SO lovely! And Burts Bees products feel so good on my skin… not heavy… not artificial… and VERY REFRESHING. I look forward to trying more of their face products in the future as I have so appreciated these.

Brushes... I haven't always used makeup brushes and quite honestly I never knew the fuss over them was about... until I had some.  They really help!  Sort kinda like painting on your face and using a decent brush just helps it go on so much nicer.   No need to get fancy, just make your way to Target (if you live in the States and are luck y enough to have one!) and find yourself an inexpensive brush set that suits your taste... you can add individual brushes down the road when you see what you like.   I have no idea what each of these brushes is ACTUALLY for, but I know what I like to use them for and that's all that matters.

Brushes… I haven’t always used makeup brushes and quite honestly I never knew what the fuss over them was about… until I had some. They really help! Sorta kinda like “painting” when applying makeup to your face and using a decent brush just helps it go on so much nicer.
No need to get fancy, just make your way to Target (if you live in the States and are lucky enough to have one!) and find yourself an inexpensive brush set that suits your taste… you can add individual brushes down the road when you see what you like.
I have no idea what each of these brushes is ACTUALLY for, but I know what I like to use them for and that’s all that matters.

My point in sharing is not to ‘sell’ you anything, but rather to show you that a whole lot can be done with just a little.

Also, no need to spend hours and hours on putting yourself together, but there is also NO SHAME in taking a little time to put your best face forward… to stand a little taller.

WOMAN… taking care of yourself appropriately is taking care of the people around you.  Sometimes being Good to others starts by being Good to you and at other times vise versa.

Be the best YOU that you can be in the moment you are in.

With Love,

BigSis

